Now my kids would die for this, they really LOVE my lemon curd. Why they like it so much more than any other I dont know, but the stuff you buy at the shops is foul, you just can’t beat the real thing made with good ingredients.

I have done my back in giving Boris his injection! My family came round today to help with some decorating but I couldn’t bend down so made them some lemon curd to take home instead. The fact I have my own chickens helps, but I am really irritated to see that rats have been burrowing into the coup to pinch the feed. This is despite having three cats…who are about to be sacked!

MWF Lemon curd

3 organic lemons

200g caster sugar (superfine)

115g unsalted butter (sweet)

2 large ( US extra large ) eggs

2 large ( US extra large) egg yolks.

Wash lemons, grate the skin and place in a heatproof bowl. Cut the lemons in half and squeeze the juice minus pips into the bowl.

Set over a bowl of simmering water and add the butter and sugar. Stir until sugar dissolved and butter melted.

Put the eggs and yolks into a bowl and beat together with a fork. Pour through a sieve into the lemon mixture and whisk well until thoroughly combined.

Stir the mixture constantly until it thckens and lightly coats the back of a wooden spoon.

Remove from the heat and pour into warm sterilized jars. Cover seal and label. Store in a cool dark place and use withing three months. Once open store in fridge.

