The weather was so gorgeous last weekend I felt almost human. I don’t know about you but I feel so much more energetic when the sun is out but its not too hot. I have been meaning to bottle some of my home made country wines for ages. As I prefer to do this out of doors I took the chance while the weather was nice. I can certainly think of worse ways to spend a Sunday afternoon than bottling, and simultaneously drinking (!) some wine.

I had some bottles of lemon wine left and when I opened one it had become sparkling. It was a little sharp, probably because the last of the sugar had converted to alcohol so I added a few sweeteners. This turned it into a pleasant light sparkling drink.

I never stick to the rules and sometimes it catches me out. Berry suggests you should keep accurate records of what you have done, but I never can be bothered. Now normally I know what is in a demijohn, but although I knew one contained honeysuckle wine, I have no idea what on earth the other contained as I had forgotten to label it. In any case neither are ready to drink so I bottled them, labelling one set ‘indeterminate’. As some of my cider was starting to clear I syphoned that off into a new demijohn.

'indeterminate', cider, honeysuckle and sparkling lemon wine.
indeterminate, cider, honeysuckle and sparkling lemon wine

In a fit of enthusiasm I also carried on with my liqueur making binge and made some banana liqueur – heres the recipe .

Banana liqueur

7 medium ripe bananas

750 ml brandy

400g sugar.

250 ml water.

Peel and slice bananas thinly

Place the bananas in a clean glass container with a tight fitting lid. Add the brandy, close tightly and leave to stand for five weeks in a warm spot. Shake regularly.

Pour the mixture first through a clean, dry sieve and then through four layers of cheesecloth. Set aside. Mix the sugar and water in a heavy bottomed pan and stir until the sugar has melted. Bring to the boil and boil for 12 minutes. Remove the syrup from the stove and leave to cool. Add the flavoured brandy to the cold syrup. Pour into a clean dry sterilised bottle and store for at least a month before use.

