I havent done too badly this year. I only have three hives……and I lost a queen somewhere in May……so I had to breed another one, holding one of the hives up. Still I have managed to get more honey than in previous years, my beekeeping expertise has been sadly lacking. I need to get some moreĀ supers before the July rush next year, I only just had enough. The hives now have their varroa strips in place. I intend to move this winter and moving the bees fills me with dread so I guess I will have to overwinter them in the local apiary. Of all the things I have a real problem with in beekeeping its the lifting. I wish someone could come up with an invention to reduce the heavy lifting involved, I can very barely lift a full super and and I get older that is going to be an increasing problem. In my travels I have discovered this site which sells draw hives

http://www.drawhive.co.uk/hivetypes.html

They are quite pricey, and it may help a bit but still doesnt get over the perennial problem of moving hives, something I have come to dread. He sells the plans, I really wish I had good carpentry skills. Having to pay someone is never economical.

some of this years honey crop
some of this years honey crop
